The Steering Group (2018-)

Hajo Boomgaarden, University of Vienna

Hajo Boomgaarden is Professor for Empirical Social Science Methods with a Focus on Text Analysis at the Department of Communication and currently Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences at the University of Vienna. Before, he has worked as Associate Professor for Political Communication at the Amsterdam School of Communication Research at the University of Amsterdam. In Vienna he established the Computational Communication Science Lab. Currently, he is principle investigator of the Media Side project of the Austrian National Election Study and in the H2020 projects REMINDER and MIRROR. He serves as deputy scientific director of the Austrian Social Science Data Archive, deputy director of the Vienna Center for Electoral Research and Scientific Board member of the European Social Survey. Also, he is Associate Editor of the Journal of Communication. His research interests focus on content analyses of media portrayals of politics and on media effects on political attitudes and behaviours and on methodological advances of content analysis techniques.

Mark Franklin, European University Institute

Mark Franklin is the John R. Reitemeyer Professor Emeritus at Trinity College Connecticut (USA). In retirement he was the inaugural holder of the Stein Rokkan Chair in Comparative Politics at the European University Institute (Florence, Italy). He has also held retirement positions at Nuffield College Oxford (England) and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (USA). He has published twenty books and over one hundred refereed articles and chapters regarding elections, voters, parties, public policy and relevant methodological topics.

Alexia Katsanidou, GESIS Leibniz Institute for Social Sciences

Alexia Katsanidou is a Professor of Empirical Social Research at the University of Cologne and the director of the GESIS Data Archive for the Social Sciences – Leibniz Institute for the Social Sciences in Cologne. Her research focuses on individual political behaviour and party politics in European and EU politics. She is also an expert in Research Data Management. She is currently working on impact of the crises as a PI in a project on the European financial and migration crisis (Solikris) and a project on the Environmental Crisis (DominoES). Personal Website

Georg Lutz, FORS/University of Lausanne

Georg Lutz is Director of FORS since 2016. FORS is the Swiss Centre of Expertise in the Social Sciences that implements large-scale national and international surveys, offers data and research information services to researchers and academic institutions, and conducts methodological and thematic research. Georg Lutz is also professor of political science at the University of Lausanne and between 2008 and 2016 he was project director of the Swiss election study SELECTS. He is member of the General Assembly of the European Social Survey (ESS) and CESSDA, as well as member of the planning committee of the Comparative Study of Electoral Systems (CSES) and previously of the steering committee of the Comparative Candidate Survey (CSS).

Maria Oskarson, University of Gothenburg

Maria Oskarson is professor in Political Science at University of Gothenburg, Sweden and participant in the Swedish National Election Study (SNES) team, with  specialization on social and political cleavages, attitudes and welfare politics. Recent publications are found in journals such as Scandinavian Political Studies, Government & Opposition and British Journal of sociology as well as in the Oxford Handbook of Swedish Politics. Maria Oskarson has extensive experience of working in research steering groups and networks, and has also held several academic assignments at the department of Political Science, University of Gothenburg.

Nicolas Sauger, Sciences Po Paris

Nicolas Sauger is Professor of Political Science at Sciences Po, Paris (France). He is the Director of its Center for Socio-Political Data and of the national Infrastructure DIME-SHS. He is also the Secretary General of the French Political Science Association. He has published about ten books and fifty refeered articles and chapters regarding institutions, electoral systems, parties, and voters.